Running · Uncategorized

The Biggest Challenge Yet

I began running a few years ago.  It was the last thing I could have imagined myself doing 5 years prior as I was almost 300 pounds and could only walk one city block.  At 100 pounds lighter I decided to give running a go.  I down loaded the app “Couch to 5k”.  I followed the instructions to a tee and at the end of the program I signed up for a 5k race.  I was not running to come in first place, I was running to finish.

The morning of the race it was pouring rain.  Not just a sprinkle, but a huge downpour.  I decided to run anyway.  The race took us through downtown Seattle and back to Queen Anne.  I ran the entire race without stopping.  I was soaking wet, but somehow that did not matter.  I had completed my first challenge to myself.

A year later I upped the ante.  I signed up for a 10k.  I used the couch to 10k app this time.   I like these apps because they are a walk/run program which has you running the entire distance at the end.  I trained hard for this race and although I think I finished last or close to it, I ran the entire race without stopping.

This year I am challenging myself to 13.1, a half marathon.  I have begun training and will be signing up for a race soon.   The race gives me a goal to work towards.  When I run I have more energy and the endorphins keep me in a better mood.  When training I can eat almost anything I want and not gain weight, although I attempt to eat healthy.  I encourage everyone to try at least a 5k to challenge yourself and stay fit.

2 thoughts on “The Biggest Challenge Yet

Leave a Reply

